CDL Training

How to Change a CDL from Intrastate to Interstate?


When it comes to commercial driving, the type of driving you’re authorized to do is a crucial factor. This is often determined by the K restriction on a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL). In this article, we will explore the intricacies of the K restriction, its implications, and how you can transition from intrastate to interstate driving. So, let’s dive in!

What is the Difference Between Intrastate and Interstate Driving?

A K restriction on your CDL means that you are limited to commercial driving within the boundaries of the state where your license was issued, known as intrastate driving. This restriction often arises due to medical reasons or age. In some cases, drivers may not meet the federal requirements for full interstate commercial driving, but still qualify for less stringent intrastate driving standards in their state. Additionally, individuals aged 18 to 20 are initially limited to intrastate driving and are issued a CDL with a K restriction. They can later apply for interstate driving privileges after turning 21. To clarify, interstate driving involves crossing state lines or transporting cargo or passengers between different states, while intrastate driving is confined to one state’s boundaries

Do You Need a DOT Medical Card for Intrastate Driving?

When applying for a Commercial Learner’s Permit or CDL, every commercial driver must self-certify their intended type of commerce. For drivers engaged in interstate commerce, categorized as “non-excepted interstate” drivers, submitting a Medical Examination Certificate (MEC) is mandatory. This certificate becomes a permanent part of your DMV driving record.

Drivers classified as “excepted” are exempt from filing an MEC under state or federal regulations, though an employer may still mandate an examination. Should a physical examination be necessary, it must be conducted by a physician listed in the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.

How to Change Your CDL from Intrastate to Interstate?

Now, let’s address the crucial question: How can you change your CDL from intrastate to interstate? The primary pathway to lift the K restriction is related to your medical status. Here are the steps to remove the K restriction.

1. Consult a Certified Medical Examiner: To transition to interstate driving, the first step is to consult a certified medical examiner who can assess your medical condition. This examiner should be listed on the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s (FMCSA) National Registry. Learn more about the DOT Physical.

2. Pass the DOT Medical Examination: The certified medical examiner will conduct a DOT medical examination to determine whether you meet the federal medical standards required for interstate driving. These standards cover various health aspects, including vision, hearing, blood pressure, and more.

3. Receive Your DOT Medical Certificate: If you successfully pass the examination and meet the required standards, you will receive a DOT medical certificate. This certificate indicates your fitness for interstate commercial driving.

4. Visit your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or equivalent agency. Check the DMV website or call to verify the specific requirements, documents needed and associated fees.

Bring the following documents with you:

   – Your current intrastate CDL

   – Proof of your DOT medical card

   – A completed CDL application form, if required

   – Any necessary endorsements for the type of commercial vehicle you plan to operate

Job Opportunities: Intrastate vs. Interstate Commercial Driving

The presence of a K restriction on your CDL can significantly impact your job opportunities in the commercial driving industry. If you have a K restriction, you are limited to intrastate driving, which means you can only operate commercially within the state where your CDL was issued. This may restrict you from certain commercial driving roles, particularly those involving long-haul trucking or transporting goods or passengers across state lines.

However, it’s essential to note that numerous job opportunities still exist for intrastate commercial drivers. Local delivery services, public transportation, and many construction-related driving jobs typically fall within the boundaries of a single state. So, if you have a K restriction, you can still find a wide range of driving opportunities within your state.

Ready to Get a CDL?

Getting a CDL is the first step toward a new career as a truck driver. Fill out the form below, and a Career Specialist will be in touch to talk about training time, tuition and job opportunities.


Popular Posts